Return to Questions and Answers Index

Q&A    Questions and Answers:



I just want to know who came in second in all of the triple crown races in the years that we had a TC winner. I've looked all over the web and can't find the answers as they usually just list the winners of the races. If you could help, I'd sure appreciate it.


-- T. L. C.


With 11 Triple Crown winners, that means a total of 33 races. Here are the winners and the 26 horses that ran second....

1919 Triple Crown Winner: Sir Barton
Second Place:
        Kentucky Derby -- Billy Kelly
        Preakness Stakes -- Eternal
        Belmont Stakes -- Sweep On

1930 Triple Crown Winner: Gallant Fox
Second Place:
        Kentucky Derby -- Gallant Knight
        Preakness Stakes -- Crack Brigade
        Belmont Stakes -- Whichone

1935 Triple Crown Winner: Omaha
Second Place:
        Kentucky Derby -- Roman Soldier
        Preakness Stakes -- Firethorn
        Belmont Stakes -- Firethorn

1937 Triple Crown Winner: War Admiral
Second Place:
        Kentucky Derby -- Pompoon
        Preakness Stakes -- Pompoon
        Belmont Stakes -- Sceneshifter

1941 Triple Crown Winner: Whirlaway
Second Place:
        Kentucky Derby -- Staretor
        Preakness Stakes -- King Cole
        Belmont Stakes -- Robert Morris

1943 Triple Crown Winner: Count Fleet
Second Place:
        Kentucky Derby -- Blue Swords
        Preakness Stakes -- Blue Swords
        Belmont Stakes -- Fairy Manhurst

1946 Triple Crown Winner: Assault
Second Place:
        Kentucky Derby -- Spy Song
        Preakness Stakes -- Lord Boswell
        Belmont Stakes -- Natchez

1948 Triple Crown Winner: Citation
Second Place:
        Kentucky Derby -- Coaltown
        Preakness Stakes -- Vulcan's Forge
        Belmont Stakes -- Better Self

1973 Triple Crown Winner: Secretariat
Second Place:
        Kentucky Derby -- Sham
        Preakness Stakes -- Sham
        Belmont Stakes -- Twice a Prince

1977 Triple Crown Winner: Seattle Slew
Second Place:
        Kentucky Derby -- Run Dusty Run
        Preakness Stakes -- Iron Constitution
        Belmont Stakes -- Run Dusty Run

1978 Triple Crown Winner: Affirmed
Second Place:
        Kentucky Derby -- Alydar
        Preakness Stakes -- Alydar
        Belmont Stakes -- Alydar

1943 Triple Crown Winner: Count Fleet
Count Fleet in the winner's circle of the 1943 Preakness at the Pimlico racetrack. He won by eight lengths over Blue Swords. United States Office of War Information, Overseas Picture Division, Washington Division -- photograph by Arthur S. Siegel. (Courtesy Library of Congress.)

Pity poor Alydar -- In the 1978 Triple Crown pursuit he was "always a bridesmaid; never a bride"! Alydar and Affirmed went up against each other a total of ten times, with Alydar winning two of those meetings. In the Travers Stakes at Saratoga, Affirmed crossed the finish line ahead of Alydar, but was disqualified for interfering with Alydar on the backstretch, thus giving Alydar another victory, but technically not against Affirmed. Alydar was put down in 1990 at the age of 15 after suffering a broken leg -- twice -- under very suspicious circumstances.

Previous Question  |  Next Question

Return arrow Return to Questions and Answers Index

Return arrow Return to the "Learning More About Horses..." page

  The contents of this document are not for reproduction.